List of Prime Ministers of India | Names and Details of All Prime Ministers |


List of Prime Ministers of India | Names and Details of All Prime Ministers 

The Prime Minister is the leader of the Council of Ministers and he/she makes sure that important decisions are communicated to the President. The Prime Minister also provides information about how well things are going in the Union.

The current Prime Minister of India is Mr. Narendra Damodardas Modi. He hails from Gujarat and holds a special place in the heart of the people not only in India but abroad also. He is the 14th Prime Minister of India. He is one of four Prime Ministers of India to serve for two consecutive terms. No other person from another party has served two consecutive terms as Prime Minister of India. He is also the first non-Congress Party Prime Minister to do so. Here, we will list all the other previous Prime Ministers of India so far.

List of Prime Minister i

Prime Ministers of India from 1947-2021

Sr. No. Name of PM Life Span Tenure Remark
1. Jawahar Lal Nehru (1889–1964) 15.8.1947 to 27.5.1964

16 years, 286 days

The first and the longest-serving PM of India.
2. Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting) (1898-1998) 27.5.1964 to 9.6.1964

13 days

First acting PM of India
3. Lal Bahadur Shastri (1904–1966) 9.6.1964 to


1 year, 216 days

He quoted ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’ during the Indo-Pak war of 1965
4.  Gulzari Lal Nanda  (Acting) (1898-1998) 11.1.1966 to 24.1.1966

13 days

5. Indira Gandhi (1917–1984) 24.1.1966 to 24.3.1977

11 years, 59 days

She became the first female Prime Minister of India
6. Morarji Desai (1896–1995) 24.3.1977 to  28.7.1979 

2 year, 126 days

He became the oldest to become PM (At the age of 81 years) 
7. Charan Singh (1902–1987) 28.7.1979 to


170 days

He became the only PM who did not get to face the Parliament
8. Indira Gandhi (1917–1984) 14.1.1980 to 31.10.1984

4 years, 291 days

The first and the only lady who served in the capacity of PM for the second consecutive term in India
9. Rajiv Gandhi (1944–1991) 31.10.1984 to 2.12.1989

5 years, 32 days

He was the youngest to become PM in India (At the age of 40 years )
10. V. P. Singh (1931–2008) 2.12.1989 to 10.11.1990

343 days

He became the first PM to step down after a vote of no confidence
11. Chandra Shekhar (1927–2007) 10.11.1990 to 21.12.1991

223 days

He hailed from to  Samajwadi Janata Party
12. P. V. Narasimha Rao (1921–2004) 21.12.1991 to 16.5.1996

4 years, 330 days

He became the First PM who hailed from south India
13. Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1924- 2018) 16.5.1996 to


16 days

He became the the PM for a short tenure in the history of India.
14. H. D. Deve Gowda (born 1933) 1.6.1996 to


324 days

He hailed from Janata Dal
15. Inder Kumar Gujral (1919–2012) 21.4.1997 to 19.3.1998 

332 days

16. Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1924-2018) 19.3.1998 to 22.5.2004 

6 years, 64 days

 He became the first non-congress PM who completed full term as PM
17. Manmohan Singh (1932 – …….) 22.5.2004 to 26.5.2014   

10 years, 4 days

 He became the First Sikh PM of India
18. Narendra Modi (1950 – …….) 26.5.2014 – Present He became 4th Prime Minister of India who served two consecutive tenures

The prime minister of India sets the dates for meetings and programs in Parliament. He also can decide when to close down Parliament or when to dissolve it. When he makes announcements about government policies.

Read other stories to motivate yourself such as; Be Honest to your Work, Have Faith in Others, Stop Being Negative, Realise Your Worth, Everything Happens for a Reason, Love Your Mother, Hone Your Skills Daily, Family is Important, Be positive for reading more stories that motivate.

Do share this post if you liked the List of Prime Ministers of India. For more updates, keep logging on BrainyLads


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 4.3 / 5. Vote count: 4

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!

For Regular Updates

Join Us on Telegram

Click Here to Join